jump to navigation

Topspin July 28, 2006

Posted by ticktockclok in Topspin.
trackback

Hey, ‘the kid’ here.

Ahh, topspin. Love it, hate it, kill it, worship it. Those are the steps I’ve taken in topspin, consecutively.

Love it: I wasn’t even hitting topspin. It was just a cool flashy thing to show off to my 8 and 9 year old tennis playing friends which proved I was better than them! I think it was more of a slice which after bouncing would swerve way to one side or the other. Maybe not topspin, but it sure had a cool factor.

Hate it: The stage where I was beginning to figure out what topspin actually was. I was a complete failure at it, and only managed to hit a shot in 1 in 4 times. Whether I was hitting with topsin, I don’t know. But I never threw my racquet. Off the court.

Kill it: I reverted to my previous “slice everything” strategy. I became the expert of the dropshot, squash shot, and backhand slice. Even my serve started to get backspin on it! Unfortunately, I met someone who hits every ball flat, hard, and gets it in. So I was just batting practice for him. I couldn’t compete at the high school very well either.

Worship it: I got a PI. I hired one to find clues as to what the problem was with my groundstrokes. He just found out that I had gum on the bottom of my shoe. No, not really. I got a ‘private instructer’. He’s taught me often in group lessons before, so we know each other well. I fixed my forehand first, with a radically different stroke, and then went on to my pathetic backhand, which has now gained the ranking of ‘apathetic.

You’re always learning. I started with the basics, and went back to the basics again.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

